Kimbooktu.com

Gadgets for book lovers

Book Treasures June 12, 2008

Filed under: Miscellaneous — Kim @ 11:34 pm

Used books and library books can house some hidden treasures. AbeBooks has a fun article about the stuff people find in books. You can read the story here.

 

6 Responses to “Book Treasures”

  1. Elizabeth Says:

    Thanks for the link.

    That was interesting to read.

  2. Sue Eves Says:

    Thanks for the link.
    The child’s notes, ‘nobody loves me’ were heartbreaking.

    I’d like to read the letter C.S. Lewis left in a book!

  3. J.D. Says:

    I’m a nut for inscriptions in old books. More than one short story of mine has been sparked by reading an old letter tucked into an aged cloth-bound book.

  4. Steph Says:

    Cool! I enjoyed that so much I forwarded it.

    I’m famous for leaving hair elastics, Kleenex, receipts, pens and pencils, anything really! And I have a gazillion bookmarks, too.

  5. Mel Says:

    Great article! I once purchase a set of W.M. Thackeray novels off of EBAY. Inside was a calling card, and a watercolor bookmark with writing on the back. The books were all stamped with a mans name, so I googled the name and found a website with the family history. It was ran by the granddaughter of the former book owner. Her family had many of his books with the same stamp. She offered to buy them and off they went….back to the original owners family!

  6. […] Links for 06.13.08 Used booksellers share the funny, interesting, and odd things they’ve found in books. (found on Kimbooktu) […]


Leave a comment