Kimbooktu.com

Gadgets for book lovers

Kimbooktu’s Library at Night October 7, 2009

Filed under: About the website — Kim @ 8:24 pm

Over the years, I have posted photo’s of my library. Since a library is almost a living creature that ever changes and evolves, I thought it would be nice to show you how my library looks today. But first, I will take you back in time.

2007

The first time I posted a picture of my library, it was on Kimbooktu’s sister website Yourshelves.com. Click here to see what my library looked like on July 14 2007. Back then, we still lived in our apartment and had only four cases with about 200 books in them. A couple of months later, on September 18, I posted another picture to be seen here. Still in the same house, but now with a few more cases. And a bit more books. We realised our house got to small for our books and started to look for a new house.

2008

We moved into our new, much bigger, house six months later. I kept you updated on how my new library was coming along. My biggest wish came true. An entire room for all of my (our) books! It was so much fun putting the shelves in and unpacking all of the boxes of books. All the books were placed in a certain section, so they are easy to find back. There were a few empty cupboards back then, to be filled up in the years to come. You can read this post of April 30. 2008 and see the photo’s here.

2009

Now, over a year has passed and the library has changed a lot. Not only are there more books it. There are now a little short of a thousand books in there. So, the empty cupboards are getting filled already. Along with these cherished books, I keep special possessions. Things that people I care about give me, nicknack’s I bring back from my travels. The room has gotten far more personal.

The decor has changed too. I replaced the chairs, that so many of you loved, with a little sofa. So much more comfortable when reading! Above the faux fireplace hangs a fantastic picture now. My parents gave it to me last Christmas. I adore it. Next to the picture are little shelves to hold nice bookmarks, special books and different sorts of book related things.

Click ‘more’ below to see the photo’s I took less than an hour ago. Kimbooktu’s Library at Night. (Title pinched from this book, by the way) Sorry that the pictures are not as sharp. I hope the nightly atmosphere makes up for it. I hope you enjoy the photo’s!

Library_005

Library_003

Library_001

Library_002

Library_004

 

13 Responses to “Kimbooktu’s Library at Night”

  1. phoenix Says:

    What a gorgeous library!

  2. Lotte Says:

    I adore your library! When I move into a bigger house I totally want a library like that 🙂 It looks so beautiful, heaven on earth I bet ya 😉 for booklovers like us…

  3. Debra Lynn Says:

    Love it. I could see wonderful cold nights curled up with a good book on that comfy sofa. Great job.

  4. Magix Says:

    Ooh, how lovely! And very nice to see the change through the years!
    Are the shelves Billy-shelves from IKEA or something else?

  5. Josette Says:

    Hi, I really enjoyed looking at the pictures. Your library’s awesome! I hope to have one like it someday. 🙂

  6. Ron Says:

    Nice post – library pictures ..Keep Posting– Tip: Keep your post active- commenting helps it – Ron library pictures

  7. Lovely room, especially with the typewriter – can I move in?

  8. […] on the title to read) 1. Biggest bookish wish came true 2. Kimbooktu writes for Bookstore Guide 3. Kimbooktu’s library at night Total of comments until today: 1.293 Google hits on “Kimbooktu”: circa […]

  9. Kim Says:

    Thanks for the compliments on my library. I love it too. We spend a lot of time there. We use it more than our living room!

    If you have a library at home, feel free to send me pictures for yourshelves.com!

  10. Cole Davis Says:

    An attention-grabbing dialogue is price comment. I think that you must write more on this subject, it won’t be a taboo topic but usually individuals are not enough to talk on such topics. To the next. Cheers

  11. Wonderful beat ! I wish to apprentice whilst you amend your site, how could i subscribe for a blog site? The account aided me a acceptable deal. I had been a little bit familiar of this your broadcast provided bright transparent concept

  12. How is that you have a fireplace there too! I am so jealous. So cozy and all you need is a rain outside, glass of wine and a good book! Perfect!

  13. mer information…

    […]f I am not real superb with English but I find this real effortless to compre cf[…]…


Leave a Reply

