Kimbooktu.com

Gadgets for book lovers

Penguin Classics: the Bill Amberg Collection January 9, 2009

Filed under: Books all sorts — Kim @ 8:53 pm

I got the Penguin Newsletter in my mailbox today. As I browsed trough it, I fell in love instantly. Penguin had the people at design house Bill Amberg make the cover for six classics. They turned out in beautiful brown leather, carefully wrapped an but in a stunning box. The titles are:

  • The Picture of Darion Gray by Oscar Wilde
  • A Room with a View by E.M. Forster
  • The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  • The Big Sleep by Raymond Chandler
  • Brideshead Rivisited by Evelyn Waugh
  • Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote

The books usually cost 50 British Pounds each, but they are now on offer at the Penguin site at 20 Pounds. So instead of 300 pounds for the complete set, you pay 120 pounds. Since the Pound dropped drastically in relation to the euro, this is even more a bargain now. So I could not resist and bought the complete set just now. I am so, so very exited! I cannot wait to smell the leather. Even though I’m not sure if I will get the books out of their wrapping… Mayby I’ll just cherish them. If I can restrain myself.

Click here to see the offer and here for the set the Bill Amberg website.

 

2 Responses to “Penguin Classics: the Bill Amberg Collection”

  1. Roberta Says:

    I’m such a sucker for packaging and Penguin never disappoints. These reprints are beautiful.

  2. […] More gorgeous editions of classic literature that seem to only be available in Europe. (found via Kimbooktu) […]


Leave a Reply

