Kimbooktu.com

Gadgets for book lovers

I’m back! April 30, 2008

Filed under: About the website — Kim @ 7:55 pm

Thank you so much for your patience during our move. The new house is wonderful! Even more so, because I now have an entire room for my books. Click ‘more’ to see some before and after shots. The library is not finished yet, but I wanted to give you an idea.

Since most of the jobs around the house are done now, I will be posting again on the regular basis you are used to. If you see anything that might fit my site, e-mail your suggestion to this address.

The library

I was shocked at the emptiness of my library. After unpacking over forty cases, I thought I had missed a couple. In our old house and in my old bookcases there seemed to be so much more books. On the other hand, I am glad my books did not fill all the shelves. That would mean we moved house for nothing! I hope this library will be future proof and will not be full for a couple of years.

This is what the room looked like when we were installing the cases:

Then, I did some paintwork to the wall you see above. I got a fantastic table from the parents of my husband. My father-in-law restored it himself. I got my new chairs in the room and the faux fireplace kindly left behind by the previous owners of the house. Then the unpacking took place. The hubby and I made a little party out of it. Glass of wine at hand and the unpacking could begin.

There is still some work to do. I have to paint the blue pipe in the corner and hang my beautiful Tiffany lamp, which I got second hand from the internet. I also have to decorate around the fireplace, to make it cozy. And last of all I am going to start searching for a nice little table to put between the chairs. Anyway, this is what my library looks today. Be sure to let me know what you think!

 

18 Responses to “I’m back!”

  1. Ellen Says:

    Kim, it’s wonderful! I’m sure that empty shelf space won’t last long.

  2. Empty shelves mean more books required!

  3. Elodee Says:

    Love it!!

    Your one lucky booklover!

  4. Dingo Says:

    What a lovely place to sit and read. Congrats on the move. We’re glad you’re back.

  5. Kath Says:

    Ooh I just love those chairs in your library!

  6. that office looks amazing, very jealous! all i have is a messy room in a shared house at the moment, one day i’ll have a library like that!

    on a side note, i realise you’re obviously busy with the move etc, but i emailed about getting on the a-z bookish list, if you have time to get back to me now๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Jeff Rutherford Says:

    Where’d you get those chairs? I love them!

  8. kimbooktu Says:

    Thank you all, that is so kind!

    The chairs. That is quite funny. I bought them at a discount company which I believe is American. Seats and Sofas. The chairs were meant for the living room, but the moment I got the plastic of our cats attacked them. So they live in the library now. The chairs I mean. No cats allowed in the library.

    In due time the chairs will get replaced by leather Chesterfield chairs. I love those, but they are quite expensive. Besides that, I could not find a matching pair. For now I am quite happy with my cheap floral chairs…

  9. phoenixc Says:

    Your library looks lovely! I am so very jealous of all the space you have! I also really like your pedestal table…and the print on the chairs is so happy and cheerful. They look very lucky!๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Soooo jealous! The shelves will be packed in no time!๐Ÿ™‚

  11. patricia Says:

    Beautiful!! And a fire place? Lucky you. And yes, those chairs are delightful. (Of course so is that old typewriter!)

  12. Jim DeArmon Says:

    What was the outcome of your art contest?

  13. Lotte Says:

    Oh my god, it’s adorable!! I love the green color and the fireplace…the chairs are cute too..I’m soooo jealous! I hope to get a library of my own sometime in the future๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Jennifer Says:

    What a beautiful room! Many happy years of reading in your library.

    Jennifer

  15. clary Says:

    It looks wonderful!! Congratulations on your new home.

  16. Wow! I envy that typewriter. Congratulations! It looks like you will be very happy there. Wishing you more and more wonderful reading and blogging moments.

  17. Dewi Says:

    I’m so completely jealous at your library! Wish I already had so many books, but I guess you have to start somewhere.

    And the typewriter! Not that I know much about typewriters, but it looks lovely.

    So much fun to find persons how have this much interest in books.

  18. This is a amazing article, I discovered your blog site researching yahoo for a related subject matter and came to this. I couldnt find to much alternative information and facts on this piece of writing, so it was pleasant to discover this one. I will likely end up being back again to check out some other articles that you have another time.


Leave a Reply

