Kimbooktu.com

Gadgets for book lovers

Weirdest bookmark March 26, 2008

Filed under: Handy,Humour — Kim @ 12:20 am

There cannot be enough bookish gadgets in my mind. Therefor I applaud designers who take the effort to create something for us readers. Every now and again a designer takes it overboard and makes something that makes me wonder. It makes me wonder about how designers view readers.

This gadget, the ABRACADABRA bookmark, made me wonder alright. It took three designers to come up with this ‘gadget’: Jung-Hyun Lee, Won-Sik Chae & Rhea Jeong. I wish I could have been a fly on the wall when they discussed the creative process of it. Maybe it went something like this:

Jung-Hyun Lee: I wanted to read last night and I could not find the last page I read.

Won-Sik Chae: Don’t you use a bookmark?

Jung-Hyun Lee: Sure, but they suck. I have used receipts from the supermarket, nice paper bookmarks with teddy bears on it and even fancy silver ones with Yin-Yang on them.

Rhea Jeong: I know what you mean. It is so hard to get your fingers in between the book and the bookmark!

Won-Sik Chae: Don’t you just hate when that happens? Let’s make something easier to save the readers. Think life vest, like on a aeroplane!

This is what they actually came up with:

You can find out more here and here.

 

9 Responses to “Weirdest bookmark”

  1. Lotte Says:

    First of all: I LOVE your website!

    Secondly: That bookmark is really funny. Who would think of something like that? I’m wondering if it really works, like if it’s practical or not…

  2. patti Says:

    How do you get it to stay in the middle of book like that? is it sticky? does it leak?

    It looks really really cool, but I’ll stick with store receipts and post-its.

  3. Sheila Says:

    That is pretty cool, but I think I’ll just stick to using a pieces of paper that my daughter draws on. :)

  4. jeane Says:

    That is just plain weird. I’ll stick with simple pieces of paper. They’re useful for taking notes on, too, which this fancy bookmark can’t do!

  5. Dawn Says:

    I will have to stick with my heart shaped paper clips, rubber bands and all the bookmarks I get as gifts.

  6. You comments are helpful and I hope that we will see more different kinds of gadgets in the future, in particular, cool unique gadgets.

  7. [...] April 9, 2008 Filed under: Uncategorized — kimbooktu @ 2:10 am A recent post (to view here) made me wonder what you use for a bookmark. The comments of the post revealed that probably most [...]

  8. Kerry Says:

    I use business cards as bookmarks. When I travel, I look for pretty business cards, often with artwork on them. I have so many now that I am pretty picky about the ones I select, and they have to be cool looking with graphics or art of some kind. They make great souvenirs, as they are small and portable, and great bookmarks. Every time I use one, I look at the card and remember where I was when I found it and think happy vacation thoughts!

  9. Every weekend i used to pay a visit this web page, because i want enjoyment, for
    the reason that this this site conations genuinely pleasant
    funny information too.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers