Kimbooktu.com

Gadgets for book lovers

Roman shelving system January 23, 2008

Filed under: Furniture — Kim @ 12:11 am

Well, almost. The designer, Sean Yoo, got his idea for this shelving unit when he visited Pompeii in Italy. There, he saw a roman wall which is build by means of the ‘opus incertum‘ technique. After some further research, he came up with the ‘Opus Shelving System’. It is very light in weight, but yet very strong. So is the price. Learn more about the shelves here.

Thanks to Arlen for the link! 

PS. Speaking of shelves. There are some new entries on Your Shelves! Click here to see the shelves of other book lover’s. (And do not by shy to send in your own!)

 

4 Responses to “Roman shelving system”

  1. Montsnmags Says:

    I was going to whine about the higgledypiggledy, disorganised stacking of books crammed in any and every whichway…then I looked at my six floor-to-ceiling bookcases worth of books, higgledypiggledy stacked and crammed every whichway into three non-floor-to-ceiling bookcases…and felt shame for my readiness to criticise.

    Actually, I quite like them. They’d temporarily release me from the embarrassment of my disordered self, plus, well, they look pretty groovy-buggy-baby too.

  2. These are great! You find some of the best book related stuff! How do you do it?

  3. Boekengek Says:

    Remember what you have said about books lying flat? While I’m re-organizing my library to get all the books stand up again, you present a chaotic (but beautiful) idea from the past.😉 I was in Pompei last summer and what I saw on shelves were human bodies preserved in lava. Amazing and impressive.

  4. Ladytink_534 Says:

    Those are really cool looking. Like a honeycomb!


Leave a Reply

