Kimbooktu.com

Gadgets for book lovers

Kimbooktu’s Bookish art contest! January 11, 2008

Filed under: About the website — Kim @ 12:08 am

My husband and I bought a lovely house recently. This house will get a fantastic library. All of my beloved books will live in a room of their own as from April 2008. I am already thinking of the design and the furniture. It can be perfect with your help…

What to do

I would like to have a piece of art for my library wall. And I want YOU to make it. I would be very proud to have a piece of art by one of my readers in my library. The piece can be anything. A drawing, a painting, a photograph. But a poem, a photoshopped piece of art, or anything else will be brilliant. I will post the entries with the names and – if wanted – contact information on a separate page. This way everybody can admire your work.

Restrictions

There are not many restrictions. Except that the art work has to be printable. The canvas size has to be 40 by 50 centimeters, or the other way around. You can let your imagination run free, but the piece has to be ‘bookish’. You can depict books, a poem, a scene from a book, a reading person, something around Kimbooktu, whatever. Please send me an image of your work, which is no larger than 500 pixels on the widest, so I can publish it on Kimbooktu. I will contact the winner for the 40×50 image, so I can print it.

The prizes

My husband and I will pick four winners. We will post the names on the 15th of March 2008. The four most beautiful pieces, in our view, will get five Eco-Libris stickers. Every sticker represents a tree which will be planted in your name. (Read more about Eco-Libris in this previous post.)

The winning piece will be printed and hung in our library. We will make a photo to prove it. Kimbooktu will also write a separate post about the image with the contact information and website of the maker, so interested parties can directly contact the artist to buy the artwork.

Disclaimer

Kimbooktu and Eco-Libris can use the pieces of art as send in by the makers on their websites, but not for financial gain. If the artwork is used by any other medium, the laws and conditions of the country of the artist apply. If you would like to use an image, please contact (Kimbooktu for the details of) the maker.

You can send your entries here. (You will find this article and the entries via the image as stated below in the sidebar, or via the blue bar on the top of your screen.)

 

The prizes of this contest are sponsored by:

 

3 Responses to “Kimbooktu’s Bookish art contest!”

  1. Ladytink_534 Says:

    I’m not very artistic but I linked this contest from my blog for you!

  2. kimbooktu Says:

    Thank you so much!

    And… You do not really have to be artistic to make something.

  3. […] Kimbooktu’s Bookish Art Contest! […]


Leave a Reply

