Kimbooktu.com

Gadgets for book lovers

Bookish Quotations September 2, 2007

Filed under: Miscellaneous — Kim @ 2:00 am

I love quotations. It is nice to read someone’s passion or thoughts in just a single line. Something to think about. Something to remember. I found this website that only has quotes related to literature on them. It does not look pretty, but I thought you might enjoy it anyway. You can find it here. I found another site that has quotes on them that have to do with reading. You can find that one here.

 

PS

I always look for images to go along with my posts. I came across the one above whilst searching for a picture for this topic. You have to love Dickens to do this, don’t you? What do you think of putting literature on your body like this? Ever thought of becoming a walking book?

 

 

11 Responses to “Bookish Quotations”

  1. bookdoctor Says:

    Long time lurker here, first time commenting on this great blog.

    I have two lines from Paradise Lost tattooed on my upper back🙂 So I was happy to see others doing the same.

  2. kimbooktu Says:

    Hi!

    Thank you for reading my blog! What do the two lines say?

  3. bookdoctor Says:

    The mind is its own place, and in itself
    Can make a heaven of hell, a hell of heaven.

  4. kimbooktu Says:

    Well, that’s so true!

    Why did you decide to have it tattooed? Is it your favorite quote?

  5. bookdoctor Says:

    It’s one of my favorite works of literature, and that’s part of what I consider to be best passage. It reminds me that, though I may not always be able to choose my physical environment or related circumstances, I can make the most of just about any situation.

  6. kimbooktu Says:

    That’s one of the best reasons to get a tattoo I’ve ever heard.

    I consider having a tattoo once in a while. Strange, because I do not really like tattoo’s in general. I do like the thought of them, though.

    Not for the fun of it, but to have something that stays with me forever. I view a tattoo as a piece of art. And as some sort of statement to the ‘outside’ world. But even more so like a marriage. If you love someone deeply, you marry them. I can imagine that people have a tattoo of something, so they are united with their love of something forever.

    If I will ever have one, I will be something bookish.I married the love of my life, so that is a part of me anyhow. My next love of my live are books. So my possible future body art will be about that.

    Since I have not found anything that I want on my body forever, I do not have any tattoos yet. I take stuff like this very seriously. Every time I think of a tattoo and what it might look like, I do not get any further then ‘bookish’.

    I once saw this guy on TV that had a section of the bible across his back. That’s a bit too much for me. I would rather choose for something small. And something I can see myself.

    My husband has a tattoo on his back, on the lower end of his neck. I had to tell him the color is fading, because he cannot see it. That seems such a shame to me.

    Why do you have it on your back? Can you enjoy it?

  7. bookdoctor Says:

    Well, I got it there because it was a nice big area (the tattoo is framed by leaves), and it’s one part of the body that’s less likely to have sags and wrinkles later on. I don’t have to look at it all the time; I know it’s there, and that makes me happy🙂

  8. Kristy Says:

    I came to comment about words on the body and read the comment exchange above and found it to be quite interesting. I have considered it for so so long. I have two tattoos on my lower back. The first one I got was the chinese symbol for poetry. It kinda looks like a man putting up smoke signals. Very cool. The other is a back piece with a heart in the center and daisies…my favorite flower.

    I am currently considering the word “unconditional” to remind myself to love openly and fully and completely.

    I too cannot see my tattoos without a mirror. Every so often when I am trying on something in a store I look in the threeway to see my own tattoos…I always get the same thrill to know they are still there.😉 I also always ask my husband to tell me if they begin to fade. lol

    I think if I ever got words from text tattooed they’d be words from Nothing Gold Can Stay by Robert Frost. I just love ” Her early leaf’s a flower;
    But only so an hour.” Again…reminds me to cherish and love fully….for time is fleeting.

  9. Holley Says:

    I had already decided that my next tattoo would be bookish but had not thought of actual text until now! Great post, thanks for the ideas!
    htw

  10. Geoff Says:

    Ever since reading Fahrenheit 451 I’ve wanted to become a “walking book,” but not in the way shown above!

    Though if I ever WERE to get a tattoo, I suppose some kind of literary quotation would be on the shortlist.

  11. TOB Says:

    Nice. I have a whole song written on my back. I guess that makes me a walking song book!


Leave a Reply

