Kimbooktu.com

Gadgets for book lovers

Another habit August 30, 2007

Filed under: Art — Kim @ 10:48 pm

I admit, I am a smoker. “TankBooks” made the habit, or better the packaging, into an art form. The makers present literary classics in tiny books, packaged in cigarette packs. The six authors of the first batch are Joseph Conrad, Ernest Hemingway, Franz Kafka, Rudyard Kipling, Robert Louis Stevenson and Leo Tolstoy.

This is what it’s all about, according to TankBooks: ”As one habit dies hard, another takes hold. The ban on smoking in public places comes into operation in the UK on July 1, 2007. Tank is launching a series of books designed to mimic cigarette packs – the same size, packaged in flip-top cartons with silver foil wrapping and sealed in cellophane”.

At the moment they are only sold in the UK at 6.99 pounds. As from March 2008, they will become available in other countries as well. At that point they will also release a new series of bookish cartons. The person responsible told me they will make four series of six titles per year from that point forward. Love the idea. I cannot wait for the moment they are available in The Netherlands! Click here to learn more.

 

PS

I would like to collect these books. Since I do not live in the UK, I cannot obtain the six books that are out now. If you live in the UK and would like to help me, please send me an e-mail.

 

2 Responses to “Another habit”

  1. queenmab04 Says:

    Thanks for your comment on my blog. I believe I have found what you are looking for… There are no pictures, mind, but the publishers are Tank Form. Take a gander at http://bookshop.blackwell.co.uk/jsp/search_results.jsp?publisher=Tank+Form

  2. kimbooktu Says:

    That seems like the books I was talking about! Thank you so much for posting this link!


Leave a Reply

