Kimbooktu.com

Gadgets for book lovers

Book inscriptions project May 8, 2007

Filed under: Art,Communities — Kim @ 7:57 pm

I received an e-mail today with a very interesting link it. The mail was written by Shaun of the Book Inscriptions Project. He asked me, as a book lover, if I might have a book with an inscription in it that I could send him. Since I am a purist, I do not have any books with messages written in them. Reading the ones of the project, I am almost sorry that I have this ‘books-have-to-be-clean’ obsession.

You can take a look at this great website here. If you have any books with inscriptions, please consider sending them to the people of the project.

 

8 Responses to “Book inscriptions project”

  1. Henk Says:

    You never buy second-hand books? They sometimes have inscriptions, notes, stains, drawings, ex libris, underlinings, love letters used as bookmarks, …

  2. kimbooktu Says:

    I buy second-hand books quite often. I collect the work of an perticular Dutch author (Mulisch) and have to pass on a book I was looking for for ages if someone has written in it. I just cannot have that in my collection.

    If the book is just for reading I do not mind so much. If it is for my collection I keep searching until I find a clean (first) edition. Sometimes I buy a book that has been ‘personalised’, but only to replace it with a clean one when I find it.

    Not only because I like my books clean, but also since the value of books is higher when they are clean. It makes my collection more valuable. First it is hobby, but in the end it might make a nice investment too.

  3. Kate Says:

    Sometimes inscriptions can add value – it’s the whole thing of provenance…

    I wanted to drop you a note and let you know that I’m linking to you from my new bookblog. You always have the neatest things on this website – I can’t wait to see what you’ve come up with next.🙂

  4. Chris Says:

    I found one at a book sale with an inscription to someone on Mother’s Day. I was sad that it ended up there, I hope the lady didn’t die and someone gave away her books. I bought it though- for 50 cents.

  5. stshores24 Says:

    I found you some bookshelf wallpaper, Kim: http://www.ohgizmo.com/2007/05/15/genuine-fake-bookshelf-wallpaper/

  6. eing the purist that you are, have you ever gifted a book with an inscription? I always have the dilemma of whether to write on the inside cover or save it for the card.

  7. sorry that was supposed to begin: Being

  8. kimbooktu Says:

    @ Kate: thank you for linking to me! And about provenance. In some cases inscription cán add value, you are right about that.

    @ Literary: I cannot remember giving a book which I have enscribed. I rather put a note in the book. I have a friend, though, who always askes me write something in the book I gave her. So, I will enscribe, but only after relentless begging by the receiver🙂


Leave a Reply

