Kimbooktu.com

Gadgets for book lovers

Edible book festival March 15, 2007

Filed under: Communities — Kim @ 7:31 pm

I posted about bookish festivals before. Make sure you enter your local bookish festivals here! I found one that is worth a separate mention. Every year on April 1. the “Edible book festival” takes place in a lot of countries. “This festival is a celebration of the ingestion of culture and a way to concretely share a book; it is also a deeper reflexion on our attachment to food and our cultural differences”, the organisation writes on their website. You can find it here.

Edible book festival

Update

I have put a short cut to bookish festivals in the side bar. I would love it to grow out into a some sort of world wide database of festivals concerning books and reading. So if you have the time, please enter festivals concerning books in the comments of the article.

 

5 Responses to “Edible book festival”

  1. That’s incredible!!! I have certainly not heard of this type of festival…it would be so fun to attend one of these events.

  2. kimbooktu Says:

    I know! I would LOVE to too… I cannot think of all the bookish edible stuff they can come up with. It sound yum non the less.

  3. Chris Says:

    We have ‘edible books’ at our library too. I’m in Canada. I was impressed by what one can do with cake!

  4. Chella Says:

    My girlfriend and I had an idea to do one called ‘Swimming Against the Tide’ – A book made as salmon sushi with writing on rice paper!

    I’ll let you know if we make it happen somehow. Feel free to use the idea, if you’re already good at making sushi!

    Chella

  5. kimbooktu Says:

    @ Chella: We make sushi at home. I’ll try my hand at sushi books next time! Nice idea!


Leave a Reply

