Kimbooktu.com

Gadgets for book lovers

Books by the foot March 15, 2007

Filed under: Books all sorts — Kim @ 7:28 pm

Weird?! Why should anybody house books without intending to read them? I have written about books for decoration only, but this… At this website, you can buy books by the foot. Yes, by the foot! Just because they look pretty. I’m sorry I have to say this, but… That’s so sad. And they do not come cheap too! I would rather spend the money to buy some proper reading material. Click here to be in awe.

Books by the foot

 

7 Responses to “Books by the foot”

  1. Miss T Says:

    That’s nuts! Even if you needed books like this for set dressing for a film or play, you could easily put them together much more cheaply yourself.

  2. Roger Says:

    I agree, this is sad. I can’t even imagine a movie director paying $300-400 a foot for background dressing.

  3. Lauren Says:

    Hmm. If there are people willing to shell out money like that for decoration only, I’ve got a LOT of books. Think I could rent them out for $300/foot? (Holy cow! Think about that. A foot is what, maybe six books?)

  4. Chris Says:

    It is depressing. Bookseller Chick wrote a post about people buying books for the coffee table that made them look smart. How sad is that?

  5. Chella Says:

    You know what tho? This was a great book shop and when I lived in New York I used to go there all the time. The fun was in nothing being catalogued! You could spend hours there and get lots of inexpensive books that were a total surprise to come across. I still remember which of my books came from The Strand. I’ve now looked on their website and it’s weird to see the whole lot catalogued like that – really takes the fun out of what that shop used to be about for me. As for books by the foot, it is kind of funny to me what people will pay for. Just think -the next time you’re watching a sitcom or something, you might see a feet of books about cooking in the background on the kitchen set.

  6. Andrew Says:

    $300 a foot for Easton Press/Franklin Library.
    I collect these books, and Franklin Library goes for C$40 average per book, second hand. Measuring what I have currently, a foot is around 8 to 9 books = C$320-360.
    Not a bad deal really😉

  7. kimbooktu Says:

    @ Andrew: when you put it like that…


Leave a Reply

