Kimbooktu.com

Gadgets for book lovers

Biblioholism… March 5, 2007

Filed under: Books about Books — Kim @ 9:05 pm

…The literary addiction. “Have you ever awakened the morning after a book-buying spree and been unable to remember how many volumes you bought or how much you spent?”, says the cover of this book. I sometimes say that I am a member of the BA. Bibliophiles Anonymous. “My name is Kim and I am a bibliophile.”

Of course, there is no such organisation. (Maybe there should be one?) In case you are in need of such a self help group, this book might prove useful. It gives you insight in your addiction and teaches you how to cope with it. You can find out more about it and look inside it here.

 

Biblioholism

 

3 Responses to “Biblioholism…”

  1. As someone who just purchased 7 used books on Amazon over the weekend, I’m sure I could use this book. I set a rule for myself of buying one book for every 2 that I read, to cut down on unread books in my library. But how can you pass up used books for less than a dollar on Amazon?

    Speaking of which, maybe I should add this one to my Wish List for the next buying spree.

  2. kimbooktu Says:

    I sort of do the same. We also have become careful about buying books. Not because of the money, but because of the space. My fiance and I read a lot, so it takes up a lot of room. If we are not careful we have to buy a new book cabinet every month.

    Last week I even swapped the sitting room and the back room. The back room is the smallest. This was our library. Now the library inhabits the biggest room of our house. The living room is now the smaller room…

    The alternative was moving, which is a bit biblioholic… Moving because you can no longer house your books.

  3. pinkozcat Says:

    I thought that I had solved the “too many books” problem by joining an organisation called BookCrossing …

    Now I have an excuse to buy books and I’ve never had so many and I just keep on acquiring more … and more … just so that I can have the fun of giving them away when I have read them.


Leave a Reply

