Kimbooktu.com

Gadgets for book lovers

Miniature book shop February 19, 2007

Filed under: Books all sorts — Kim @ 7:25 pm

Some acquaintances of mine have built a dolls house. They are quite fantastic, and it lead me to an idea. I have always wanted my own bookshop, but it is probably never going to happen. How great it would be to build my own miniature bookstore! Like a dolls house, but then as a little shop. And decorate it just the way I would my dreamed up bookstore. I already have some miniature books, which I bought on Ebay recently.

I have searched the web, searching for inspiration, but I did not find anybody who build a dolls house book shop. Then I came across this book. It gives plans for five different dolls house shops. Including a Victorian book shop! I have become very tempted to buy this book! If you want to learn more about it, click here. If you come across some pictures of miniature book shops, please let me know!

Dolls house

 

 

8 Responses to “Miniature book shop”

  1. Lauren Says:

    This would work well as a doll shop. It reminds me a little of The King’s English bookstore (in Utah, I believe): http://tinyurl.com/2dcvrj

  2. kimbooktu Says:

    CÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚTE!

  3. Chella Says:

    You could also make mini books – it would help you experiment with different binding techniques and papermaking. The small scale will mean not a lot of mess or expense!

  4. Wonderful! I wish you hadn’t told me! I just *had* to go and look and it’s on the .co.uk Amazon as well where the “other things people bought” list is long enough to keep me from my “proper” work for a *very* long time. Thanks!

  5. Heather T. Says:

    I want one!!! Think of all the tiny things you could make for it! Little books, mini moleskines, bookmarks, a tiny cash register…

  6. kimbooktu Says:

    @ heather: I know! I would love to make stuff like that. It would keep me busy for years! And finally have my own bookshop. And one that cannot go bankrupt too!

  7. […] Miniature bookshop October 2, 2007 Filed under: Books all sorts, DIY — kimbooktu @ 7:19 pm My dream is to own my own bookshop, as you know. Second best is to create one. In miniature! We are actually going to do this during the dark and cold evenings this winter. We have not decided on the approach yet. I posted about a book with a plan for a bookshop in it a while ago, see here. […]

  8. Mike Says:

    Lol..my niece is peering over my should right now. Very nice.


Leave a Reply

