Kimbooktu.com

Gadgets for book lovers

Book vending machines February 16, 2007

Filed under: Miscellaneous — Kim @ 12:34 pm

No Mars bar. No diet coke. Noting of the sorts. This vending machine only produces books. How fantastic is that?! We have none in my country. Neither are there any in the USA, as a reader informed me. But if you ever are in Paris, you might bump up to one of those. Learn more about this phenomenon here.

Thanks to Stephania for informing me!

Book vending

 

10 Responses to “Book vending machines”

  1. Lauren Says:

    Oooh, I love this! If I had the money, I’d buy one of these for my home, install it in the front hallway, put a pile of coins in a nearby bowl and tell all guests that they couldn’t leave without a book.

    Kim, on a related matter, there was a story a couple of years ago about vending machines in some of the train stations in London that dispenses booklets containing one short story or a few poems, suitable for reading on the train taking you home. Can any of your readers in London confirm if that is still going?

  2. kimbooktu Says:

    @ Lauren: Maybe I can help you. I lived in London for the better part of 2004. Before that I was a regular guest of the city. I have never seen such vending machines. I wish I had! Maybe they started them after that?

    Something else I do love about the public transport of London is the poetry in the tube. Something inspiring every day. They also make books of the poems. It is a series called: “Poems on the underground”. You can find out more here: http://www.tfl.gov.uk/tube/arts/poems/

  3. Lauren Says:

    Kim, that is fascinating! Thank you for sharing that. I also found the article I was thinking about. It’s entitled “Vending machines sell literary ‘snacks.’ It begins:

    On the teeming platform at South Kensington Underground station, vending machines offer a choice of a chocolate bar, a pack of gum–or classic love poems.

    The slim, map-sized poetry volume , whch sells for about $1.50, is the work of Travelman, a publisher determined to bring quality literature to the huddled masses on London’s subway system.

    Here’s a link to the article: http://www.xent.com/FoRK-archive/2001.02/0467.html

  4. kimbooktu Says:

    I’m paining my brain thinking if I was in London the beginning of ’01… Anyway. Thank you so much for looking it up and sharing!

  5. Ellen Says:

    I saw one of those in Barcelona two years ago. The books were slightly more expensive (5-6 euros, I think) but the machine had a pretty decent representation of the top popular books in Spain at the time. I still should have bought one!

  6. booksden Says:

    I love the idea, if this makes to the states I will be in trouble… Thanks for sharing.

    Clary
    http://clarylopez.com

  7. Jeanine Says:

    I saw a machine like this on Heathrow Airport last summer, somewere in a corner. I was in a hurry so I didn´t study it very well. To bad, because we´re trying to build one in our library.

  8. kimbooktu Says:

    If I ever see one, I am willing to miss my flight to get a book out of one of these machines!

  9. Stephen Says:

    THAT is COOL. We just have iPod vending machines here–perhaps a symptom of the culture.🙂

  10. Ashley Says:

    I can honestly say i have never seen book vending machine locations. Neat though


Leave a Reply

