Kimbooktu.com

Gadgets for book lovers

Must see! February 1, 2007

Filed under: Book Shops — Kim @ 4:09 am

This is a must see! If you love books, book shops and the – sometimes- peculiar people that own the shops… Wow! My fiance found this film via the Dutch website “boekendingen”. He watched the film and could not wait for me to see it. I have to say, it is a gem. The camerawork is excellent, the questions of the reporter are spot on. And the maker has left the talking to itself by just filming. Let’s tell you about it…

Make sure you have a small hour to spend. The film is about 53 minutes. You can watch it here. The quality is terrible, but that should not spoil the fun. It is about the owner of the Parisian bookstore ‘Shakespeare & co’. At some times it is almost like watching the BBC series ‘Black Books’. But this is real life! The keeper of the bookshop, Mr. Whitman, takes in lost young people and aspired writers. He is the typical person you will love to hate. But you will love him (loads!) as the documentary furthers.

I do not want to say too much about it. Except: see it! It is funny, interesting and moving. And I want to go to Paris right now. I have to visit that store. If you want to see more, click here to see a short Dutch documentary. It is also very understandable for viewers who do not know Dutch. Click here to get the website of the actual bookstore.

If someone has the documentary in better quality, please let me know.

Shakespaare picture

 

 

7 Responses to “Must see!”

  1. Kristy Says:

    This video is absolutely amazing….to imagine just sleeping with all of those books and history. Lovely daydream.

  2. […] and Company – Portrait of a Bookstore as an Old Man Today kimbooktu mentioned an interesting documentary film, available here, about the Shakespeare and company bookstore in […]

  3. Chris Says:

    He’s unique! But quite a poet.

  4. Robin Coleman Says:

    What a beautiful film! I have just now had the time to view it without interuption. It made me want to be young again and stay in his bookstore. Perhaps my daughter who wants to be a writer will do this. I have to say that the image of him “cutting his hair” will stay with me forever. Thank you again for such a wonderful site. I love looking at it everyday!

  5. Christin Says:

    Kim, this is hillarious! I’ve read Time Was Soft There by J. Mercer. Around minute 8 of the 53 minute video it shows the mass chaos which is the Sunday pancake breakfast including George yelling “This is how you do it!” and the scariest looking pancakes sitting there.

    In the book, the candiadian journalist, J. Mercer described it so well… now I can see just how accurate his portrait was of the Parisian english-language bookstore Shakespeare & Co.

  6. […] Shakespeare and Company in Paris, France. If you do not know what I’m talking about, read this post I did a couple of years […]


Leave a Reply

