Kimbooktu.com

Gadgets for book lovers

Ridiculous gadget January 12, 2007

Filed under: Books all sorts — Kim @ 10:51 am

This next gadget I find utterly ridiculous and – in a strange way – hilarious. I post it anyway, because tastes differ. And I wanted to say how bizarre I find it.  It is called The Little Guide to Your Well-Read Life Audiobook”. It also comes in a ‘normal’ book. Since this particular guide is also available as an audio book, I decided to post that one. The irony of the whole thing is too funny.

Anyway. I could write what this ‘guide’ is all about, but this product leaves me without inspiration. Therefore I will quote the website it is on: “What would you read if you had the time? What would you learn if you could? Spend just a few hours with Steve Leveen’s Little Guide to Your Well-Read Life audiobook and you could gain a lifetime of greater fulfillment as a reader. The secret, as Steve will tell you, is to know how to fall—stay—in book love. That’s easy to do, once you give yourself permission to read your way.”

I cannot wait to hear what you think of this.

Guide

 

4 Responses to “Ridiculous gadget”

  1. Pat R. Says:

    I paged through this at Marshall Field’s in Chicago because I had heard about it from bookcrossing friends who had a good laugh over it. Here are some of the tips from the book (paraphrased). “Join a book club so you read a broader selection of books.” Okay, I do that. “Set a time to read.” Yep. I do that, too. I try to read 30 pages a day, no matter what. Sometimes I’m up in the middle of the night doing just that. I guess that’s all I remember–it wasn’t much more profound than that. I certainly wouldn’t drop the $22 buck asking price on it!

  2. kimbooktu Says:

    Reading the discription of this audiobook on the website, made me think of those tapes that are supposed to help you stop smoking. You know, those hypnoses things.

    I wonder if they ever sold one of those (audio)books… And if so, to whom!

  3. Lauren Says:

    The original book came in to me when I was co-producing a radio show about books on an NPR-affiliate station. What a piece of garbage! I gave it away on a books web site, then watched as it resurfaced again when that person gave it away. It is nothing more than a monument to himself. AVOID.

  4. kimbooktu Says:

    @ Lauren: Avoid, is a good word. I have no experience with this product, but it screemed the word at me from the moment I found it.

    Thank you for posting your experience with this ‘guide’. That is why I posted this ‘thing’. It is nice to recommend things, but sometimes it is good to say what NOT to buy. But I think most visitors already decided that for themselves.🙂

    I have to say, this is the first piece of ‘bookish’ crap I found…


Leave a Reply

