Kimbooktu.com

Gadgets for book lovers

Book Shop sitcom January 1, 2007

Filed under: Humour,Miscellaneous — Kim @ 12:44 pm

A first on this blog, a television series. There a not much series about books and or bookstores, so I am looking forward to seeing this one. This English comedy is called “Black Books”. It is about the Irish Bernard Black who runs a small bookshop in the London Bloomsbury. He is an unfriendly drunkard who hates his customers. Black has an assistant called Manny, which he bullies endlessly. Black only has one friend and that is Fran. She runs a shop next door, selling strange new age related stuff.

The series was broadcasted on the British Channel Four from the end of 2000 until the beginning of 2004. The producers made three series. I have not seen it yet, but I will soon. Since I love the English humour, I cannot wait to see it. As I understand it, it is even a bit bizarre every now and then. Even better! You can buy the DVD’s here

Thanks to Patricia for e-mailing me about this series, which she learned about on http://pagesturned.blogspot.com.

Update
I have seen the first three episodes of season 1. I find the series utterly hilarious. It is absolutely worth seeing. You’ve got to love weird aburdistic humour, though.

Black Books Cast

 

2 Responses to “Book Shop sitcom”

  1. Tara Says:

    Hi. I found a link to your website from a fellow bookcrosser and came to check it out. I love Black Books so much!!! It’s one of the best shows ever.

    I’m from Australia and sometimes it’s played on the ABC here sometimes, but I managed to get all three series on DVD through a friend of mine.

    Anyway, I love Black Books with all of my book loving heart and just wanted to voice my approval!

    Happy ‘crossings!

  2. bibman Says:

    Your blog is very refreshing and beautiful! I’ve posted something about black books some time ago, liked it a lot.
    cheers


Leave a Reply

