Kimbooktu.com

Gadgets for book lovers

Oprah’s book club December 30, 2006

Filed under: Communities — Kim @ 1:52 am

I just read that Oprah is the favourite role model of Americans this year. This prompted my thought about her book club. Oprah has an extremely large influence on her viewers. This is why I am very happy that she started a book club. The more people she can persuade to pick up a book, the better. There is probably a tiny chance you have not heard of her book club, if you have not you can learn more about it here.

I am very curious to know what you think of Oprah’s book club. Place your thoughts in the comments!

Oprah's book club loge

 

4 Responses to “Oprah’s book club”

  1. Sylvia Says:

    Thanks to Oprah I read Anna Karenina, which was really quite enjoyable. That’s the only one of her picks that I’ve read, though. I agree with you–if she can get people to read, that is great.

  2. Darmok Says:

    I don’t know specifically about the quality of the books she promotes, but I agree as well-I think it’s great for a popular figure to support reading.

  3. kimbooktu Says:

    She stopped me reading 40 million pieces by James Frey. Because of her I descovered he made up the book, while it was supposed to be his life story. Which is supposed to be non-fiction.

    I think the quality of the books she promotes is not bad. She hardly ever promotes a chicklit or something.It is always quite seriouw reading. It could even be possible that most of her viewers find the books that Oprah suggests too difficult. I would not be surprised.

  4. Lyndsay Says:

    I love Oprah’s book club. She picks wonderful books and encourages people to read–what could be better?


Leave a Reply

